The exception to the rule
2002-04-29, 8:57 p.m.



I'm going thru volunteer interviews at work. I give them a tour, a brief orientation, and we talk about music. Everyone with a professed broad taste in music always says it (I say it): "I like just about everything....except country." And the look on their face, as they remember the country music they've heard -- distaste and the desire to distance themselves from country music arrives and passes through their expression. I see a little confusion mixed in there too, trying to figure out how country music lovers derive pleasure from something they find so unenjoyable. The truth is they probably like some form or derivative of country -- perhaps some of the old-timey stuff -- but most can say without hesitation that the popular country music of today is unlistenable.

Just a short time ago I returned from a gamelan concert at work/"the school". I have heard all of their songs countless times over the years, having been blasted in my office from their practice sessions across the hall -- sometimes I can't even hear the phone ring over the din. But it was nice to see/hear it all together, combined with the dancers in their pretty costumes. I mainly went because A. convinced me to (she was there), but am glad that she did. I just wish it hadn't been so freakin' cold (they played/danced outside)!

Earlier in the day I cracked a joke at my boss -- a sassy sort of one-liner -- to which he responded with amusement but more disbelief: "That's just so un-you [of a thing to say]!" So if that's un-me, then what is the like-me thing to say? I don't mean that in a defensive sort of way, but out of real curiousity. Now that I think about it, one of the students I work with also recently remarked that I had said something she never thought she'd hear coming from me. What is going on here? Will the real catbus please stand up?



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland