Downward Dogma
2002-02-25, 9:40 p.m.



In an attempt to generate new ideas about this diary thing I have pulled a card from the creative whack pack (a present from mom last year).

"Get Out of the Dogma House

Nothing clouds your decision-making abilities like dogma. [I'll skip the example]. Everyone has externally-imposed "shoulds" and values that influence their view of things. What dogma is clouding your thinking?"

I am currently resisting the dogma of yoga. (Not to mention that I am fully aware of how unbelievably trendy it is right now, trendy being something I usually try to avoid). I'm finally getting into developing a daily practice again, and reading a lot. I love the discipline and precision of Iyengar, but as always am resistant to the presumptuous claims he makes: "yoga will help you achieve emancipation and self-realization, which is the ultimate goal of every person's life." Sounds like another should to me!

But the question was, what dogma is clouding my thinking? Quite probably the comparison of my life to others -- where I should be at my age. What I should or should not say because of my position at work and who might read this. Or maybe it's just simply that I should write diary entries that other people want to read.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland