Ass Over Teakettle
2002-02-28, 10:00p.m.



I fell, and broke my leg, and Larry H. Parker got me 2.1 million dollars.

OK, so I didn't break my leg. But bruised the livin' bejeezus out of it, I'm sure. I was werkin until 8pm this evening (so that I can take most of tomorrow off to go out to Grammy's house and visit my aunt). I called my mom at around 7 to find out when she was coming out, but she was in the middle of something and said she'd call back in 5. So I continued working. I went to drop off the logs in the DJ booth, and sure enough the phone light lit up when I was in the booth 'stead of when I was at my desk. I begin to run towards my office and immediately trip over the rolly step stool we keep to reach the up-high CDs and reckids. I am surprised to see the floor so close up, so quickly, so unintentionally. I bang my shin super hard, and get some sweet rug burns on my hands. "Fuck!" I say. The DJ is concerned: "Are you OK? Are you OK?" But I'm up, off and running to get the phone -- and all in vain, because I miss the call.

I feel...graceful. I feel...agile. I feel...pain. I haven't looked at the damage yet, but underneath my pants is a sensitive spot on my leg that has all the makings of a majestic bruise.

I won't get into the ugliness that was work today, but towards the very end I had a nice little giddy chuckle with one of my adviser friends at another radio station. When things get stupid hectic, you just gotta laugh.

Two things of note from today's yoga class: my teacher was quoting some 15-year sleep study that was apparently recently released -- and the upshot is that they concluded that you don't need 8 hours of sleep a night, that it's actually better for you to sleep 6 or 7 hours. I didn't press for details, but she quoted some stats that basically say that your life span will be much longer if you sleep 6 hours than if you sleep 8. College students, rejoice! If I keep following this logic then it means that if you continuously pull all-nighters you will live forever! Woo hoo! The other thing of note, which will not be nearly as funny out of context, is that she also said that she's got a favorite bumpersticker that says "What if the Hokey Pokey *IS* what it's all about?" It caught me. It tickled my funny bone. And then I went and bruised the hell out of it.

So now that someone's told you it's good for your health to sleep less, what will you do with that extra time? Me, I'm gonna...uh...I'm gonna...start making plans for a new women's music festival, "Cootchfest!". Right after I get my assistant to fetch me my lunch.

Lastly, I would like to thank my father for the title of tonight's entry, a phrase that he has used on several occasions. Dad, you taught me all the crazy backwoods slogans I know. Ok, you and the Simpsons.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland