No, I don't want three dancing frogs holding up a friggin' gazing ball
2002-03-17, 5:02pm



Friday night: A. had dinner with D. and I, then we went to see Mulholland Drive. It was my third viewing and still very enjoyable -- I still think my favorite line is "You can imagine what that kangaroo did to this courtyard!" Then, we went to karaoke at the local bowling alley bar -- it took A. and I for-ever to go through the song book and find something we thought we could sing (our first time, yikes). Unfortunately A. got gypped out of singing Photograph because D. had jokingly put her down for "Soul Man" beforehand. I was worried that it would happen to me too, but I was called up for my own selection "Eighteen" by Alice Cooper. Through nasal congestion, scratchy throat and a double gin and tonic I attempted to belt out Alice's teen boy anthem -- but I was not drunk enough or vocally talented enough for the challenge. Later I realized that although the song was better suited to my ailing voice, it was not one of the better known or crowd-pleasing tracks to have chosen. Oh well. D.'s version of Mandy was incredible, with the even the country-lovin' regulars bent over their beers in guffaws. I can't remember the song, but PV got up there and just nailed it. By the end of the night we left in disgust at the local-yokel favoritism going on, but resolved to get together for a monthly singfest elsewhere. We shall see...I'm still trying to obliterate the memory of the girl who completely screwed "I love rock and roll" beyond recognition. (Now that takes talent!)

Saturday: A failed attempt to use up some book gift certificates that D. got for using one of his credit cards. The bookstore we planned to use them at had disappeared from the mall. Then, ramen and our usual run in Little Tokyo. We had made plans to meet up with T. around 4pm to check out a potential new abode, so we zig-zagged on surface streets all the way back home to get around horrible freeway traffic. Unfortunately, the folks currently living in the house were not able to show us the interior on Saturday, so tonight we'll go check it out around 7. So far the house seems like a really great place (3 bedrooms, fireplace, 2 car garage, nice secluded yard, etc.) but still some question about what the rent will be and if we can afford it. Cross your fingers for me. Saturday night I fell into an early and sake-induced slumber, only to be paged for work. I was so zonked I didn't hear the initial page (although D. claims I told him it was nothing to worry about -- I don't remember doing any such thing, I must've been talking in my sleep), and then I awoke 15 mins. later to the little reminder bleeps that go off. Unfortunately, it was going off because the DJ had locked himself out of the station, so there was a nice bit o' silence in radio land while I was busy sawing logs. I ran over to unlock the door, only to be preceded by A., who had apparently also been called about it. My apologies to A., who had to drive much further than I to get there. Sigh.

Sunday: Slept late, bit o' yoga, and negotiation with family over b-day celebration. Tonight we'll go see the potential new home, and then I'm thinking about skipping out to Spaceland for a free show.

So that's the big weekend report. This next week will be busy but a little more quiet at work (spring break). Folks are starting to ask what I want for my birthday -- mom wants to take me to see the Vagina Monologues, but then also started talking about horrible statuary when she found out that we may be moving into a place with a yard. She and I have very different ideas about uh, decorating our living spaces. D. asked me to imagine myself opening up a present and seeing something inside that would make me so happy -- what would it be? Uhhhhhhhhhh........ummmmmmmm...I'll have to get back to you on that. But I'm still ok to go on the sky-diving invitation.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland