A devilish 'do, fiendish in its intricacies
2002-03-19, 9:07 p.m.



OK. So I went to get a haircut. And some color. Something different, a little more dramatic. Now I look like my head's on fire. Wheeeeeeeeeeee!

It's appropriate actually. Tomorrow I will be joining family and friends for an observation of the vernal equinox. I have been designated the representative for south, or fire -- so I will be appropriately dressed (or at least my hair will help me play the part). How long I will be interested in playing the part of fire on the world stage remains to be seen. My attention span tends to the short side.

The problem is, I know from previous experience that any time your hair looks unusual people start to treat you differently -- by people I mean shopkeepers, grocery clerks, waitrons, etc. All of a sudden you are a suspicious character, worthy of shabby treatment (no matter how nice you are to them). And I'm just not sure I've got the patience for that BS anymore. We'll see.

Last night I visited my beautiful laundrette and picked up the week's food rations. The albino guy was out in front of the grocery begging for change again -- except this time he was louder. Time and experience have give him the chutzpah he needs to peddle his window-cleaning service. A friend of mine (whom I've lost touch with) used to carry around a pocket of change specifically to hand out to folks who asked for it. I don't think to do that, and didn't feel like reaching for my wallet in a darkened and unpopulous parking lot.

We still haven't heard anything from the landlord of the potential new house. It might be just as well. D. just got some sliver of info today that might mean being transferred to a new project in Canada. Not good. Could be bad, even. He's supposed to find out more tomorrow.

I suppose this is the part where I'm supposed to be making lemonade...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland