A little knowledge is once again, a dangerous thing
2002-03-26, 5:23 p.m.



Hydrophrenosis. Fluid in the kidney. If left untreated, your kidney dies.

I just returned from my follow-up ultrasound at Kaiser where I was told that I have fluid in my kidney, and that I should contact my doctor right away.

So I drive home, to call for an appointment. The Kaiser appointment lady tells me that the next available appointment with my doctor is in May. "Even though I was told that I need to see him right away?" I ask, only partly incredulous because I am used to the Kaiser appointment system. "Well, you could leave him a message." So I do. And I will wait for him to call me, tomorrow morning. And I will try not to worry, and try not to Google all over the place searching for answers to why the fluid traveling from my kidney to my bladder is blocked somewhere, somehow. I will try not to imagine the worst possible scenario as I am prone to do. I will try not to worry about the possibility of surgery. I will hope that what the ultrasound technician told me is wrong, because Kaiser is wrong and incompetent and...wait, this line of thinking is not making me feel better.

But I will have a happy birthday tomorrow, just you watch.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland