sloppy thinking gets worse over time
2002-03-25, 8:49 p.m.



Second entry today.

So my monitor has started to make this subtle but high-pitched stuttery sound. It starts up after about an hour, stays a while and fades, comes back. The typical reaction would be to be annoyed, but considering that I have lately been seeking electronic sounds (ok, lazily capturing them through my DSL pipe) it makes sense that my monitor would pitch (absolutely no pun intended) in too.

I've discovered that if I lean my head in really close and listen, it fades. Either it likes the attention or it's totally coincidental. It's gotten to the point where I sometimes use its sound to complement whatever is squawking/squeaking/bleeping out of Winamp.

We finally put our book gift certificates to use this weekend. Among my purchases: Roald Dahl's "The Twits". "Mr. and Mrs. Twit are the smelliest, nastiest, ugliest people in the world. They hate everything - except playing mean jokes on each other, catching innocent birds to put in their Bird Pies, and making their caged monkeys, the Muggle-Wumps, stand on their heads all day. But the Muggle-Wumps have had enough. They don't just want out, they want revenge." (Don't worry, the birds and monkeys prevail.)

My moodiness has not subsided much. Just from the beginning of writing this entry until now I have changed moods (from content to somewhat bitter). This was no doubt in large part to the sounds of frustration and interrupted speech that comprised the audible side of D.'s conversation on the phone just now. I will always be more sensitive to sound, than to sight.

Go here:

bits&pieces



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland