Mmmm....banana split...
2002-04-24, 7:28 a.m.



Yesterday morning I awoke to the return of the pain in my side, coupled with nausea. Somehow I managed to plug thru the workday, and a volunteer interview, and the staff meeting -- but finally settled into bed (earlier than usual) with much pain and discomfort. Feeling better this morning, but not sure what/if I should eat at this point.

The venture to Sequoia not only yielded great natural beauty but a cornucopia of yummy food/snacks -- which I believe may be the source of my recent discomfort. But who can resist the nuts and snacks of the roadside produce stand? Or the post-snow hiking hunger for warm, buttery strawberry pancakes? My mouth carries on blithely savoring the warm, the salt, the sweet, the crunch, while my intestine groans and moans and curses me. I am beginning to feel a bit like the guy in Hamsun's "Hunger", although for lack of intestinal (not financial) fortitude.

I imagine myself in my elder years, surrounded by cats and my paintings of all the amazing, delicious food I've desired but could not stomach. I am also reminded of a 60s sci-fi flick where all the food was in capsule form: want a banana split? Just eat this banana split capsule! Entire meals encapsulated and somehow releasing the full flavor of the real deal. Now that's good eatin'!

OK, time to go to work.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland