Should I go or should I go?
2002-04-25, 6:53 p.m.



So there's a show I wanna go to on Friday night. But I'm sposed to be in Santa Barbara on Saturday morning, bright and shiny early. Am I a wuss for thinking I shouldn't oughta go? Will my head be straight for unraveling the mysteries of the DMCA for scruffly headed sleepy student-types at 10am? Or do I skip the show entirely, drive up to S.B. leisurely on Friday evening and hang out with S. as I have been invited to (no, not the S. one of my readers might be thinking of, although I wouldn't mind seeing the other S. again, such a nice girl)? Of course, of course, that's the adult thing to do.

Ahhh, but the music, the sound compels me. I don't care if it's a room full of people bobbling their heads to a guy poking at his laptop. I enjoy the sounds, I don't need a fucking pyrotechnic stage show. (There's been so much debate about laptop shows, and there's people like Cex who react to the debate by running around like a maniac on stage). The other night we watched a little girl spout poetry and trample on a license plate at a show. That was entertaining, but I also find the live version of laptop music entertaining too. Perhaps I am easily amused. Perhaps I am defensive about my enjoyment of what others find boring. Perhaps I should stop ruminating about this pointlessly and go bowling.

Yes, bowling. I am going bowling.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland