Robert Dinero, Sit on my face
2002-04-28, 9:23 a.m.



Hmm. The only thing I will say about yesterday is that the scenery on the way to and from Santa Barbara (coincidentally enough, considering it's the same scenery) is quite lovely. Oh, and on the way back I quite surprisingly enjoyed throwing on the PJ Harvey four-track demos I haven't listened to in a long, long, long time. (In case you're not familiar, the title of this entry is a PJ Harvey lyric). You can fill in the rest of the story about how the conference went.

The other day I was thinking about those choose your own adventure books. A quick google and cursory link clicking later I found this. I haven't tried it, but choose your own adventure is alive and well and thriving on the 'net. I am somehow comforted by that.

Last night after the conference I met D. at Yamato for some veggie sushi. I arrived there first and impulsively ordered one of their novelty souvenir mug drinks -- the Oshiro, made with plum wine, sake, midori and pineapple juice. The mug for the oshiro is in the shape of a Japanese castle (Oshiro=castle). It was tasty, but I have decided that it will be the last novelty souvenir drink I purchase. Of course you are paying for the container--the drinks are always disappointing. Like the huge plastic Eiffel Tower tourists in Las Vegas suck margaritas out of...

After Yamato was a trip to the Psychic Eye bookstore. I picked up the Dancing Wu Li Masters -- I figure my understanding of Quantum physics is a bit underdeveloped. Now I just need to make/find time to read all these books that are jockeying for space on my bookshelves.

I missed the show on Friday. Score: Acting like a responsible adult, 1. Enjoyment of some fine IDM, 0. I also didn't end up bowling on Thursday after all (as usual, thwarted by "league night", but we did end up playing several games of pool. And, although I barely passed geometry in high school I somehow managed to win every round. Go me!

And now there's Sunday, and a list of need/wants to do. And the weather is quite nice. And the birds are complaining that the feeder is empty. Time to start this thing we call a day.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland