You Can't Rollerskate in a Buffalo Herd
2002-05-08, 10:46 p.m.



It's not late. But it's late enough that I should be thinking about going to bed because I've got a training workshop in the morning. But between last night's yoga and tonight's yoga I am feeling energized, not sleepy at all. Why is it that everything must remind me of the Simpsons? In tonight's class we strayed from the tried and true Suryanamaskar and standing poses and did twists -- and just now I had a mental image of Sideshow Bob working out to aerobics on TV "And turn and flex and..."

Yeah, so Kaiser... the long-winded story short is that I had the same technician for my ultrasound (the one who sent me reeling into fear of surgery last ultrasound, only to have my GP tell me she was full of it) this morning, and she told me today that my "condition" (an apparent kidney blockage?) has worsened. I am not going to worry, and will wait patiently until my GP's first available (May 21) to find out my true fate.

Things just seem to get bizzyer all the time -- this weekend's pretty chock full o' activity, with a wild time out on the town planned with this rady and this rady on Saturday, and Mumsie's day on Sunday -- which is also my cuz's bday. Of course there is a show tomorrow night I want to go to, and Friday presents several possibilities. The good news is that I just found out my training workshop ends at 1pm on Friday, so I won't be stuck is sucky ass traffic on the way back -- and I'll have more time to get to a few things at work.

More exciting news: I have a couple of leads on geetar lessons, so I will be able to put my twanger to proper use soon. I'm supposed to pick out 2 or 3 songs to learn, but as soon as I started thinking about it the list became endless: VU, Cat Power, Bjork (some of it is geetar friendly), Bowie, Skippy Spence, The Smiths, PJ Harvey, all the classic rock/metal ballads, Neutral Milk Hotel, campfire songs, cowgirl tunes -- what to pick?!? Definitely at least one Roger Miller. He strums pretty dang fast, but I think I'd be able to plunka plunka out "Do-Wacka-Do", or "Reincarnation".

"If I was a bird and you was a fish, what would we do? I guess we'd wish for re-in-car-nation...you're a girl I'm a boy but suppose you were a rose and I was a whip-or-whillll...." Ohhhhhhh yeaahhhhhhh. Sheer brilliance. "As long as there's a hill, there's a valley...as long as there's a valley there's a place for you and me"

Yep.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland