Do it again, with feeling this time...
2002-05-20, 11:01 p.m.



"Holy impromptu shopping sprees at Amoeba, Batman!"

"Now, Robin, put that plastic away, it won't do you any good here. In fact, if you use that here it explodes in your face a month later in the form of a 'monthly statement'."

"But Batman! I am powerless against the mighty forces of Oval, Kid606 and Pan Sonic!"

(Batman mutters to self)"These overgrown kids will never learn..."

I spent 83 smackers at the reckid stoh this evening.

I bought geetar streengs and attempted unsuccessfully to find a comfy coffin for my geetar.

Earlier today I smashed my knee into a metal railing and am now reminded of the pain whenever I move it, particularly when I mogate on stairs.

This weekend I saw Kid606, Electric Company, Crack, Seksu Roba and Uprock do their thang. Kid606 kicked out the jams with plenty o' pop/rock samples and beeeyoootifuuuull glitchy noisy noisiness that made me soooo happy and smiley. Brad Laner (who was mentioned in an earlier entry, an entry that is now #2 on the Google tip) of Electric Company kicked serious ass and then dropped the ass entirely. No offense, Brad, you know how to work it -- the end of the set just fizzled out. Lyric highlight from Crack: "Africa! Can I touch your animal?" and Seksu Roba wowed us retro-styley with the theramin and the obligatory sexy robot at the front of the stage, chomping and waving its arms.

I had a geetar lesson on Saturday with Chris, who is classically trained but found common ground with me in the oldy moldies of rock (VU, Lou Reed solo, Bowie, Led Zep) and the horrible era of 80s hair metal (Dio, VH, Ratt, etc.).

Saturday D. and I went to A'float sushi in Pasadena, and savored fresh veggie cut roll and mouthgasmy enoki rolls. Then there was procuring GIANT POCKY in Little Tokyo for the lovely lady who gradjeeated from collidge on Sunday. The rady and I traded 2.5 hours of our lives listening to speeches ranging from the downright idiotic (senior class prez: "So like, UMMMMM, if I have a message to leave you with it's to like, UMMMM, keep it real!") to the witty and enjoyable (Bill Keller from the NY Times) in exchange for a few blissful minnits of pot-banging in honor of our departing friends. Afterwards we hugged, took pics and noshed on berries and cookies trying --(I think)not to absorb the reality that our friends were really leaving.

So I think that brings us up to date, at least in the Reader's Digest, souper-condensed version style of things. A longer, more eloquent entry/version was already eaten by the effing server and I am incapable of recreating it properly, full of Chevy's chips, salsa y margarita as I am. Buenos noches senoritas y senors!



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland