You'd think I'd have more to say after 4 days
2002-05-28, 10:40 p.m.



Sometime during the last week I was cleaning out my file cabinet at work at ran across a DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince cassette. I have no idea where it came from, but at the end of the week I got the Memorial Weekend party started with said DJ and Fresh Prince's "Summertime" -- no, not from the cassette but from plucking the fine and appropos tune from the vast audio galaxy. Also suddenly very important to the dance party was Busta's "Woo-Haah!". Yeah, I busted a move or two -- TGIF, man.

The weekend par-tay was actually pretty mell-ow. Saturday was a sort of Mother's Day II, as I hadn't actually spent much time with mumsie on *the* day. A visiting friend (former radio station staff) from NY shared tales and burritos on Sunday. Monday was mostly domestic at first, then dealing with unexpected work issues, then the trek to Irvine to see the digitally projected "Episode II:Attack of the Horribly Scripted Love Story". Meh.

The exciting news is that I'm expecting...that's right, some day soon -- ok, some day when Kaiser gets me off the freaking waiting list I will give birth to a 1cm kidney stone. After months of educated guessticulation and uncomfortable ultrasounds, a CT scan finally revealed my precious little bundle -- so big she won't come out on her own. Woo Hoo! And I probably have a hereditary proclivity to the production of kidney stones! Yahoo! Lookin' forward to the pain, you know it. Any suggestions for names? I've always been partial to Mabel.

Maybe if I stand directly in front of the speaker at the show on Saturday (Bogdan Raczynski & Co., the Braindance tour) the sound waves will bust the stone up. Worth a try, eh?



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland