Cut the mid-range, drop the bass
2002-06-02, 9:51 p.m.



Before I started this entry I was busying myself with getting the mound o' stuff off of my desk, in a mode, and now that I am in front of the monitor and typing away I am feeling a bit saddened, disoriented.

This weekend was perfectly harmless, but I didn't get to a lot of things I had hoped I would. Still and all, I did go to my guitar lesson on Saturday, and dined with D., and journeyed out to LA to see the Braindance tour show at the Echo. After all the anticipation of the show and really wanting to see Bogdan Raczynski live, I ended up not staying beyond Cylob--the show started late, Cylob DJ'ed for two hours (at least), and D. and I were to be up and gone at 8am to break our fast with A.J. (who was in town for a wedding) out in Eagle Rock.

Despite sleeping thru the alarm this morning, we made it up and out in time -- and noshed on an uncharacteristically heavy breakfast at the local diner. Then there was post-breakfast strolling at Descanso gardens, a spot of tea at the Bamboo house, then the airport. After we dropped A.J. at the terminal we headed down to Giant Robot, then on to the Bodhi Tree.

Either the breakfast, the odd blueberry icy (sans Boba)I got at the tea shop down the street from Giant Robot or my antibiotics (or possibly all three?) brought on an uncomfortable wave of nausea, so we cut out of the Bodhi Tree before purchasing anything -- which is just as well, because I have a huge stack of unread books.

I am definitely having one of those "why the hell should anyone care about these reader's digest blogules about my life?" moments -- but will press on, justifying my actions and hoping that this is even half as exciting for you to read as it is for me to read other folks' diaries. I need to go practice guitar and stop wallowing in my own bullshit.

One last thing: despite having to cut the nite short on Saturday, I have to say that I really enjoyed Cylob pumping up the crowd by playing the first 30 seconds of hugely popular songs, only to cut them out and play a funereal organ track, with the computo voice piping in:

"Disappointment....disappointment...disappointment"

He did this at least 10 times in a row. And yes, I thought it was funny as hell.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland