Somewhere Jeff Mangum is cringing...
2002-06-03, 11:04 p.m.



After I got over my girlhood dream (age 12 or 13) to be featured on the "Guitar Gods" page of Hit Parader magazine and went on to master the Moe Tucker drumming technique, I never ever thought I'd go back to guitar. After all, I never got past executing even a passable barre chord. And, after all, you can only play "Smoke On the Water" so many times before the novelty wears off.

Bass was a possibility, but not guitar. Now that I am actually trying for even cadet-level status on the twanger I am surprised at just how supremely unskilled I am at it. Give me something to bang on, and I'm fine. My brother used to call me the Metronome. I can keep the beat, keep the band in line. But this thing, with strings and the frets and the neck I keep contorting my wrist around, it mocks me.

I was convinced that Chris could show me how to play Rock 'n Roll Suicide, but one look at the chords and he deemed it too far beyond my current reach. Other Bowie tracks (except Ziggy) were also put on hold. We settled on Two-Headed Boy, something I threw in there just for the hell of it (and because I could find the chords easily online). By Saturday I am expected to be able to play the power-chord version of Two-Headed Boy and sing it. Hahahahahahahahahahahahhahaha....

Ha.

Shoot.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland