Paint fumes doused my fire
2002-06-09, 8:29 p.m.



Ahhh. Nothing like some stale Veggie Booty from the freshly opened bag (damn you, Trader Joe's!), and a Simpsons rerun featuring Grandpa Abe saying "Hootchie!" repeatedly.

This has been a productive weekend. Besides liberating myself from Kaiser frustration by expelling the stone on Friday (ok, so I didn't really have much active participation in that), Saturday I went on a quick trip up the coast for some relaxation, rollerblading and rumination.

Today we finally, finally, FINALLY got the primer coat on the bathroom. It is beyond comical how long it has taken to get the bathroom this far. The journey began many moons ago, prompted by my fear of being driven mad, serial/sniper mad by the wallpaper that once resided so garishly on those walls. I am generally open minded about decor except when it comes to the country crafty (or should I say "kountry krafty") genre of American "style". This particular wallpaper was horrendously pink, with sprigs of country flowers -- the worst offense was the wallpaper trim, a combination of country hearts, flowers and birds not fit for paper towels, let alone wallpaper -- but that is all far behind me now. Even though this place is a rental, I just couldn't live with that wallpaper -- I would now be updating my diary from prison.

Hopefully I didn't gross too many people out with the picture of the kidney stone -- that's why it is an optional click away from yesterday's entry. I am personally fascinated by it, as it seems strange that our bodies can produce stones at all -- and for the fact that it managed to find its own way out, against the odds. It was only after it was out and gone to the lab that D. told me he had seen pictures of the damage stones can do, with the ureter all blown out like an overblown innertube -- fortunately he didn't share the pics with me.

So now that my innards are healing up I can get back to the business of abusing my body properly, drinking like a fish and taking all sorts of toxins in...

Addendum (9:29pm) On the way up the coast I popped on "In the Aeroplane Over the Sea". It had been a long time since I'd heard it, jeez I forgot how good it is!



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland