The Laugh Manufactory presents...catbus!
2002-06-11, 9:30 p.m.



My goodness. Have you heard that song by X? "My goodness, just left to make room for you." In that context Exene is talking about her wandering eye. In my context, tonight, my goodness left to make room for my evil twin. Just get me around D.C. and I turn into...I don't know...Chris(tina) Rock, sure to offend everyone in the room in some way, all up in yer face.

It was our weekly concert series meeting, and I just don't know when to quit. Everyone and thing is fair game for miss-zinger-a-minnit. It sure didn't help that I hadn't had my dinner and was sucking on a beer at the local chop house we've nicknamed "Herpes" (a.k.a. "Heroes"). Ah well. Hopefully the lads didn't take my sailoresque demeanor to heart.

Tomorrow I embark on an (un)amazing journey up a hill and into the den of several PhDs and Masterises for the annual retreat at the college cabin. I'm looking forward to the refreshing mountain air, but have a packet of critical issues in higher education to flex my brainial muscles thru before I get there. The "duty of care" and off-campus internships, distinguishing "hate crime" from "hate speech", regulation of symbolic expression must be "content-neutral", conferederate flags and freedom of expression (yikes), the dangers of viewpoint discrimination, etc. etc. you see where this is going. I know that I will eventually enjoy stimulating conversation, but at this point all I'm looking forward to is my selfish 2.5 hour drive with my car stereo listening to my recent purchases in compact coziness. That's right...I'll be spending 24 hours with the collective brainpower of I don't know...some form of deity and yet all I'm lookin' forward to is some ear time with my bumpin' sound system. (yeah, I'm frontin', but it's pretty dope.)

I spent six dollars on my father's father's day card. It's just the kind of thing he'll like tho -- it's got this semi-/kind of pop-up book action with a golf ball arcing into the cup, and its own soundtrack (the swing, the ball in the cup, and the crowd response/applause). Beeyootiful. Classic corn.

Speaking of corn, my palate is still unclean after "Episode Ptoo" -- if anyone has any recommendations for flicks old and/or new, please leave me a note. I am starving (malnutritioned even!) for a good movie...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland