Waxing nostalgic becomes Eww
2002-06-23, 1:19 a.m.



I went from the beach to the belly of the beast in the course of the day.

The beach: skating, people watching, relaxing under umbrellas while the breeze cooled my skin. Reading. Trying not to overhear the cell phone conversation on the next blanket over: "Are you one of those guys that checks out other girls while you're with a girl?" she asks. In vain I attempt to bury myself further into the printed discussion in front of me, of logic brain and artistic brain. Eventually the conversation is wiped out, washed away by the roaring waves I have brought to the front of my ears.

The belly of the beast: Smell-Lay. Went to see the show at the Smell, saw but two of the four performing: Godzik Pink and Xiu Xiu (bands missed: Sweet Science, Open City). Saw A. and her bro there too. Left early to be a responsible daughter -- must be home early enough to be in bed early enough to be up early enough to satisfy the mother-clock. A belated Solstice celebration, a feast of friends, commencer en onze (I have no idea what the hell I'm talking about, I don't speak French!). One of the worst things about the Smell is that you bring the smell home with you.

I just know that this summer is going to run away like wild horses (it always does). That's when I miss being 7 years old and the summer seeming like for-ev-er. Three months equaled three years, days were months and hours were days. Hot days and cool nights and all the time in the world to just daydream, watch cartoons, climb trees, hang with buddies, ride bikes...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland