Give me a P! Give me a U! Give me an R! Give me anuther R!
2002-07-14, 10:12 p.m.



Another entry written in the nude that will be devoid of sex. But wait! There's more.

My skin is hot to the touch, but I'm not in the mood for a cold shower. The air in the apartment is thick with heat -- even jewelry feels hottening (yes, I'm still not getting much use out of the dictionary). An earlier escape to the mega-bookstore clad only in a tank top, shorts and thongs (the foot kind) actually resulted in an A/C OD. Leaving the books (Mastering Acoustics) and magazines (Bust, a hacker zine and Bizarre) behind actually felt good -- a nice blast of warm air warmed my artificially coolified bones as we stepped outside. But I am now wishing for some time in the middlin' ground, somewhere between the arcs of the temperature pendulum. (But you know, girls, it's really only the length of the pendulum that matters).

But ohmydog! Let us leave the predictable weather complaints behind. What's more important is the very catbusian moment I had on Friday night -- I fueled up the bus and took it down to San Diego to see J Lesser, Sagan and Aspects of Physics. A few funny things were to happen that evening:

1) I was recognized by one of the AOP members as "the cheerleader" (as he is also in one of the bands that played our concert series)

but even better:

2) the Sagan set started with none other than the sound of a cat purring (!), further manipulated into electronic effects o' course, but there was also accompanying cat video! For those who are familiar with my radio show (which quite often features said sound), this is an amazing, wonderful thing.

3) A.F. from work also showed up to the show, and I gleefully gave him (someone who knows of this connection to my show) the devil horn sign as we were both pleasantly surrounded by purring.

4) I.S., whom I had hoped to meet up with during my visit actually showed up to the show as well, so we got to hang out and chat for a bit. The last time he came to visit I had to limit our visiting to the 3 minutes I had available between meetings.

But the recent stint of long days into night/morning have apparently been too frequent and too numerous. What had been intended as a nap on Saturday evening turned into full-blown slumber that lasted until 2am. Also blown were the two events I was intended to attend that same evening. But no use crying over spilled concerts and art openings.

Thanks to O.P.'s generous loan of the Studio Ghibli collection I viddied "Only Yesterday" this evening. Miyazaki's beautiful countryside makes *me* want to spend a week picking safflowers. Somehow trimming the dead leaves and flowers off of the sun-baked plants on my back porch just doesn't have quite the same effect.

Oh well, off to bed! And off to another week of music and radio mayhem.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland