catching up
2002-10-30, 6:20 p.m.



Ack, I'm getting googled for "desperation pee stories" again.

I've been spending a lot of my free time with A., and she updates pretty much daily so by the time I get around to updating I feel a bit redundant, old news.

Speaking of redundant, Monday night was the exceedingly trying Electroclash show -- man, am I glad that I had free tix cuz I would've been really bummed if I had paid twenty hard earned dollars for that. The saddest part is that on our way into the club there were at least 2 or 3 desperate ticketless electro-junkies asking if we had extra tix, looking mighty desperate for a fix. If I had a time machine I would've gone back and given my ticket away. I have to say that the only artist that didn't piss me off was Tracy and the Plastics -- otherwise I think I'd rather poke my eyeballs with knitting needles repeatedly than ever see/hear W.I.T. again. Chicks on Speed were ultimately pretty boring, and raving inappropriately about class war (ok...so what the hell are they doing asking $50 for their merch at a $20 show?). By the time Peaches arrived my feet and patience were battling it out over who was more tired, so we caught the first half of her set from the balcony. I like some of her songs a lot, but I was just so tired of hearing the same whiplash beat all night long, standing around with a bunch of "fashion"-conscious people who apparently checked their politeness at the door. I was also nonplussed at having witnessed yet another group of female performers resort to using sex and nudity as the core of their performance.

Last night I drove out to class only to find it cancelled -- and with the surprise free time decided it was time to procure/carve my pumpkin. It did not turn out at all like I envisioned but the cutting, scooping, carving and half-watching the story of Vlad the Impaler was somewhat therapeutic.

This weekend will be another back-to-back-to-back flurry of activities, most of which should be fun -- more live music, hanging with radio folks and then the belated family celebration of Samhain on Sunday...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland