sushi and laptops
2002-11-28, 11:04 a.m.



Last night JP and I went out for dinner and then to the Echo. Dinner was fab, darling -- JP knew this little sushi place tucked away in Los Feliz. No ambiance to speak of, just this little hole in the strip mall wall, but the food was quite good. Shiitake tempura roll, edamame, miso soup. Mmmm mmm good. I am a mushroom nut so I was in quite the blissed out state.

The Echo show was good. I pretty much dug all the acts (edit, Daedalus, Lexaunculpt, Eight Frozen Modules) and there was even a surprise appearance by Busdriver during the entirety of Daedalus' set. Lexaunculpt wasn't as god-like as I had remembered him -- I think mainly I grew impatient during the soaring, angelic, love-letter-to-my-girlfriend tracks sandwiched between the pounding bass glitch stuff of his that I enjoy. As usual the IDM heads were all too cool to move beyond head bobbing, so I joined the Romans and hung back while that one guy that dances at every show commanded the floor.

We ran into folks from work at the show, hung out and chatted a bit and then sleepily made our way back home. JP is leaving town soon, which is a tragedy because whenever we get together I have a great time. Last night one of the folks from work told her that she is a major protagonist (is that redundant?) in the book of life, and I'd have to agree.

So I'll be off to mumsie's soon -- hope you all have a great, turkey-less Thanksgiving!



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland