Hajimemashite?
2003-01-12, 7:44 p.m.



I've just managed to crawl out of the brain hammock -- damn you, BBCAmerica, for your infernal Coupling marathon! Now all I can hear in my head are British accents rattling on about sex.

I went to see Blevin Blectum, Sagan and Wobbly (only caught the last song with Daedalus and Busdriver) at the Derby the other night. OP was swell enough to offer up his other staff ticket for the show, so after my first Japanese class Thursday we sped off to El Lay to catch the show. Lesser couldn't make it, which made for shorter/similar sets from Sagan and Blevin. Wobbly was particularly entertaining, what with all of the manic knob twiddling and clever samples.

Japanese class was good, but I definitely have to be more disciplined about studying this semester than I was last time 'round -- she's already threatening us with quizzes every class. Watching copious amounts of anime is already helping quite a bit with my pronunciation, however. Watashi wa Catbus desu.

Saturday was the anti-war demonstration downtown. We gathered, we marched, we had our eardrums blown out by angry speeches and a PA system that went to 11. In a strange moment, standing in the middle of the street in downtown LA, I saw 3 people I knew in the span of (no exaggeration) 5 minutes. (No, they weren't together.) It feels a bit corny or obvious, but I have to say that I felt more sense of community over the span of those few hours than I ever thought possible with my fellow Angelenos. I was encouraged by the large turnout, but not surprised by the lack of media presence. Those who did not go to the demonstration but knew about it searched in vain for television coverage, finding instead a series of features on the babies and pregnant women being left behind by our traveling soldiers. Hopefully next Saturday's marches in SF and DC will get more coverage.

Back to more selfish and self-indulgent pleasures -- today I lunched on some really fine edibles at the Veggie and Tea House -- Imperial Veggie Rolls and Tofu Soup, iced Jasmine tea. Yummmmmm. A bit pricey, but really good -- and so close. Dangerous.

I wish tomorrow was Saturday.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland