Sick girl, sick metal
2003-01-23, 9:39 p.m.



Went home from work a little early yesterday, feeling sick sicky. Tried to nap but ended up slogging thru Japanese homework. Found out that my ticket had already been purchased for the Napalm Death show, so I guzzled pharmaceutical herbal tea and stocked up on cough drops and headed out to the show.

Napalm Death were fine, but these guys totally kicked my ass. The drummer was 350 pounds of death metal mastery -- effortlessly pounding out these amazing rhythms with the flick of his wrists. Soooo goood. I don't know how they sound on their recordings but if you ever have the chance you must see them live.

Feeling kinda better tonight, think I aced my Hiragana quiz -- but still sitting too close to the blithering edge of illness. This is the second time I've gotten the sickies right before our semesterly staff retreat. Sigh. Somehow, though, being sick seems more tolerable than the time I ran the retreat with my back out.

In an unintentional counterpose (in yoga you always do the opposite pose to keep your body in balance) to last night's aural brutality I am currently listening to Erasure.

The loudest cat in the world is yelling at me now...such a neglectful mutha...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland