sin of the week: gluttony!
2003-02-11, 9:03 p.m.



For whatever reason I've been jonesing to go to Amoeba for about the past month (actually, I think the reason was some misguided hope that they would have the Lightning Bolt DVD in stock) -- and I finally made it there on Saturday. It was a brief shopping spree. By the time we got there thru traffic we had to run in, shop for about 30 mins. and then get back on the freeway to make it back home by 5. Lately I've been pretty strapped for cash, but my tax refund was burning a hole in my credit card so I left with a few CDs in my possession. I now own the first Lightning Bolt album, Muslimgauze "Uzbekistani Bizzare and Souk", Melt-Banana "MxBx1998/13000 Miles at Light Velocity", Dry Lungs V and Leaders of the New School "T.I.M.E."(yo Busta!) -- some of it was used, so the damage wasn't too bad. Had I had more time I may have made different choices, but so far I'm quite happy with my purchases.

Sunday A. came over for cheer practice -- we're getting our act together for the show on the 28th. Two things that suck about the club we're performing at: 1) they charge 10 bucks (and only allow us one person total for our guest list) and 2) they don't let you videotape unless you pay them 50 bucks. For part of our practice we attempted "Darrin's Dance Grooves" and only succeeded in mastering the "bye bye bye" move. We concluded that Darrin is a terrible teacher and that we can make up better moves on our own. Fortunately I only spent 99 cents to rent the DVD -- the other night I opened up a new video/DVD rental account and went crazy with the 5-day leeway they give you. In addition to DDG, in recent days I have also watched Judas Priest live as well as Iron Maiden's collection of videos (which, btw, is godhead -- I love you, Bruce!).

I am also excited to report that I have started learning drum parts to Adam and the Ants songs (why, the "Dirk Wears White Sox" era, o' course!). Mwaaaahaaaahaaaa! Heheheheheheh...

I am unhappy (and manically happy/hyperactive!) to report that I am totally addicted to sugar this week. I have chewed more sugary gum and eaten more terrible wonderful sugary hearts and chocolately things this week than I can remember -- kind of reminds me of the good ole days when my brother and I would devour our entire Easter basket (huuuuuuge chocolate bunny and all) in one day. Whee!

P.S. Forgot to mention that I saw (most) of Erase Errata at the Smell on Sat. night. Good stuff (although I had to nod my head knowingly at the heckler who yelled out "I love the Ex!") -- I would've stayed for the whole thing had the place not been full of cigarette smoke as thick as fecken tear gas -- I ended up in the alley with teary eyes and gasping for air.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland