Gen: faraway, so close
2003-04-03, 9:17 p.m.



Whew. Seems like everything's picked up right into bizzayness as soon as I got back into town. Our cheer squad has a bunch of gigs coming up, two of which are confirmed (April 23rd & May 25th), the other two or three are ambiguous at this point, especially with the best club in town outta commish for an undetermined length of time.

I missed two classes and didn't study much while I was away, so as a result I am a bit behind and kind of flailed on an unexpected makeup quiz that Sensei sprung on me. I'm heading off to Berzerkley this weekend for a little radio conference, so I probably won't get much more done this weekend either, between that and cheer practice on Sunday.

I think I'm going to have to glue pen and paper into my hands so that I can keep track of all the stuff going on. Just when I think I've got all the plates spinning I hear one crash in the distance, out of eye range and completely forgotten.

More randomness: last night when I should've been at a show that I missed because the person I was supposed to go with uh, caused me not to go for stupid reasons, I read the Genesis P-Orridge interview in the Disinfo.com tome of interviews. I have quite a fondness for Gen and his worldview, and had heard/read about much of what he discussed *except* I had never heard about his travels to Nepal. Imagine my surprise when he revealed that he had been in Nepal the same time as I had, and that he was regularly traveling to Boudhanath Stupa (located a few minutes walk from my family's home in a village called Simaltar) to help the Tibetan monks serve food to the hungry. If only I had known! I would walk by the Stupa pretty much on a daily basis and spent a lot of time loitering about the Tibetan monastery there, unfortunately oblivious to Gen's presence. I did meet Gen later on, however -- I met him and his lovely (now ex-) wife Paula under somewhat disastrous circumstances at a club in Riverside (a long story that I may bother to bore you with some other day).

Ah well, time to study!



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland