It's time to re-prioritize
2003-04-14, 7:19 p.m.



It's time to put a lock on my wallet. Too many purchases lately, most of them CDs. The nostalgia bug had me by the throat yesterday, so I picked up 3 Smiths' albums, Duran2's "Decade" and Miss Bjork's "Debut". The previous copy of Debut I listened to ad nauseum belonged to D., so it went away when he moved away. Friday I bought "Holdypaws" and the latest Deerhoof, "Apple O'" directly from the band (yes!) at the show (along with a very cute Deerhoof T). Today's mail brought the Lightning Bolt DVD, ordered on-line not so very long ago.

I was working on a bit of Japanese homework yesterday during slow times at our music sale, and a guy that came to the sale saw my textbook and started speaking Japanese to me. He also encouraged (actually, practically demanded) that I go to Japan, sooner than later. He said that it wasn't as expensive as I would think, and that they have the best record stores in the world, no matter what your musical interest ("even if you like barbershop quartets!"). Well, this unexpected encounter made me even more anxious to go, and also made me realize that spending all my dough on nostalgia CDs and whatnots isn't gonna help me get there any faster.

The sky is crying, so my inclination is all about the curling up under blankets, about the warm steamy cup of chamomile, about pulling out some wicked Dahl tale, or something Moominvalley. Alas, there are so many other things demanding my attention/time that I probably won't get to do that, or do that for very long. Hmmm...now I just need to figure out how to unseat the furball snuggled cozily in my lap...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland