All over the map
2003-05-05, 7:24 p.m.



Hello!

Welp, I decided against the MUTEK trip this year. As much as I want to see Coil, and the only US appearance of Senor Coconut (mostly morbid curiousity), I will not be in attendance. Provided that world travel is any safer/SARS-free in the Fall, I will put the money I would've spent on MUTEK towards the Japan trip.

Saturday was the staff party, which went well despite the unpredictable weather...and then later that night I was front row for the SYL show. They were so good, despite the fact that Devy seemed a bit perturbed at the smallish crowd: "Thanks for coming out tonight, BOTH of you!" We missed most of the opening band, who seemed pretty good. Meshuggah rocked, in a very complicated way -- lots of odd time signature. Gene and the drummer for Meshuggah were definitely the heroes of the evening, tho -- just devastating. With each day my thirst to possess one fraction of the drumming prowess I've seen in the past few months grows ever stronger. I plan to do much banging and pounding this summer -- and I want to convince myself that my neighbors won't mind if I set up a kit above their bedroom/in my apt. Heh.

So, we were supposed to do the cheerleading thang again next Wednesday, only it turned out to not be next Wednesday but next Tuesday, which is the night of my Japanese final. Ack! So no cheerleading for us -- at least not until the 24th!

Went out to mom's new apartment yesterday for a belated Beltane celebration. Everything is so up in the air and hectic with everyone right now that the overall effect was a rather low-key turn around the Maypole. And if only I had a money tree and a hovercraft I could move into the beauty-full apartment above mom's place -- great light and a nice view, good vibe. Totally out of my price range and logistically silly, considering the commute to work -- but it was a nice daydream for a while.

I was listening to Zeni Geva while driving around doing errandry today -- I forgot how much I like those guys. There has certainly been a return of heavy rockin' in the rotation lately, but I've actually been listening to a pretty wide range of stuff. OK, maybe not a huge range, but between the home stereo and car over the past coupla days I've heard 'Maiden, 'Priest, Booker T and the MGs, Bow Wow Wow, Zeni Geva, the Cowboy Bebop soundtrack, Bjork, Eugene McDaniels, Strapping Young Lad, the Red Hot on Impulse! compilation...oh, and of course all the hits at work.

The other day when I picked up the Japan travel book I also got a copy of Pippi in the South Seas -- I tells ya, if you need some great late night chuckles, Pippi's your girl.

I suppose I should do my Japanese homework...it is the last week of class, after all...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland