another one bites the dust
2003-07-07, 9:01 p.m.



Last night we went to what would be the last night for yet another local club destined for the chopping block. It was a hardcore show, which was a nice change of pace from the live shows I've taken in (less and less frequently) over the past few months. I'm very sorry to see the club go, tho -- it was a nice cozy place, good tunes, good food and decent drinks. Our cheer squad rocked the place a few weeks back, and now it will go back to being a mediocre Italian restaurant.

There's been a lot going on but I haven't felt like writing lately. Long-lost friends have recently arrived in town, from such far-flung places as Seattle and Turkey. K. from Turkey brought some lovely gifts and laughs and tales of woe. EC from Seattle brought her astute wit, sassy hairdo and some light back into our dreary SoCal lives.

I have recently started drumming in a musical exploration of sorts with two other women friends -- we've practiced twice and have some promising ideas and beginning structures of songs. I am also building up my hauling-the-goldurn-kit-around muscles. Drum lessons have become a bit more accelerated and difficult, but I enjoy the challenge. Most of all I must learn to be patient -- several times I have heard Bart's interaction with Homer about Karate lessons in my head -- I don't feel like throwing the kit in the closet (yet), but I do get frustrated at the slow pace of progress at times.

I need a haircut.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland