rest in pieces
2004-01-10, 8:30 a.m.



Went to see Sleepytime Gorilla Museum on Tuesday -- they were great but the band that opened the show was uh, let's put it this way: I felt like I was in some B-movie nightclub scene. I felt like a Sim but my entertainment/pleasure points were going in reverse. And I felt like I was surrounded by Sims that were totally into it. After Sleepytime played I went over and bought a slew of CDs for work that are not generally available anywhere but shows, and chatted briefly with Carla Kihlstead who is just an amazing musician.

Later in the week I got to see the Joe Coleman documentary, which is really well done and highly entertaining (of course, the scene where he is performing an autopsy is really hard to get through). His paintings are so intensely detailed and vibrant -- it's nice to know more about their significance, more about the life events that inspired them.

I was talking to a friend about the intrigue of hearing the early life stories of friends and folks you admire -- and recently I've been digging up some of my own early stories that I've had dormant. There's something fulfilling or settling about getting a bigger picture of someone's life -- even though I wouldn't ever want to explain away anyone's mystery.

Many thanks to the fine Disinfo.com for bringing the work of underground visionaries further out into the light...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland