The Germans are Coming
2004-03-24, 12:30 p.m.



My dad is buying me a ticket to see Einsturzende Neubauten for my birthday! Ok, so he doesn't know that's what I'm spending some of my birthday money on, but the tix coincidentally go on sale on *that* day. I haven't heard the new album, but for me Neubauten are kind of like how oh, I don't know, how I imagine the Stones are for older fans. I will go to see them any time they come thru town -- one time I went with my back out in bullet-biting pain.

Yesterday I had some kind of Twilight Zone moment at 2nd job -- this guy handed me his ID and his first name was the same as my last name. Weird because I do not have a common last name, and it's often mispronounced -- at first he was even skeptical at my claim: "Your last name is *****?", he said, pronouncing it as it should be. I gave him an emphatic affirmation, and so we went through a strange yet commiserating moment to realize we had both gone thru life with people saying our name improperly. Aww.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland