AKG C 4500, take me away
2004-07-21, 12:26 p.m.



I had a dream about meeting habbit -- except that he looked like insilico. Or maybe it was insilico masquerading as habbit, I dunno. My sleeping has been pretty interrupted lately (mostly due to the heat), so my dreams have been kind of short intense bursts that I can't remember too much detail of the next day but am left with that not-so-fresh dream residue feeling.

In a (successful) attempt to familiarize myself and my student manager with our new live mixing board at work we set up our little band to play in the studio last night. There's some nice built-in effects to the board -- and simply having one that has a solo function is already so incredibly nice/advantageous over our trusty 12 year old mixer (that will now have time to rest). It was also refreshing to practice in A/C considering our sweltery sweaty sticky heatwave of late.

My new tom arrived yesterday, but coitus disappointus: wrong color. Gretsch sent Deep Black instead of Piano Black -- which was pleasing to the eye with the maple showing through the stain but it would've looked weird with the rest of the kit. Poopy. I await a replacement.

Tomorrow I get a beyootiful breezy ride up the coast to S.B., where I will spend the day hashing out the craziness of a certain regulatory agency with "colleagues". The agenda is quite weighty -- I think it'll take a mighty dose of bodhichitta to avoid getting crushed by it all. For the moment I will bask in my personal victory of finding a microphone that eliminates that annoying monitor interference in the studio. Ahhh.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland