A. and E.
2002-02-16, 10:37 p.m.



...are the main impetus behind the creation of this on-line abomination. I'm sure this has been pointed out in countless other on-line journals, but the very idea of making a public journal and even pretending that it even remotely reveals one's real inner life is just plain silly. But there must be something to it because it seems like more and more people are doing it.

So I join in, lemming-like and wonder what the hell I could possibly write here that I wouldn't just tell people in person. Now I will have even less to say to people when I see them...

Let's start with the basics: what have I been doing? Well, last night I went to a show in Echo Park at a club uncleverly named "The Echo". I have recently been ill (as my only two readers will already know) and having recuperated (almost) I felt a need to go out and celebrate. Imagine my shock and pleasant surprise to find out that Richard Devine, Pheonicia and Otto Von Schirach were all playing a show together, part of some Schematic mini-tour they're doing. So, I drag the man down to Echo Park with me and willingly pay entirely too much for admission and watered-down drinks. The show started characteristically late -- Otto Von Shirach were somewhat interesting, Pheonicia was sloppy and disappointing (and dedicated a song to Britney Spears, for god's sake), and Richard Devine was good but started entirely too late (early?) for unhealthy tired me. Somehow I had gotten it into my head that Richard Devine was an older guy, but he appears to be even younger than I. Possibly my standards have been lowered by an extended leave of absence from the civilized world, but I liked the show. David did not.

I also ran into Justin at the show -- Justin was PD at KSPC back in the early/mid-90s. He was an RPM kid back then, and these days is running an RPM record label: www.pretension.com

He told me that he recently quit his corporate job, and that he had also just recently, finally got what all the kids at KSPC were saying [was bad] about corporations. He's getting married in August.

It's getting late (it took me a while to figure out how to set this thing up), so I won't get into the story of how Kaiser made me hold my piss today. I'll save that gem for tomorrow. Oh, but I will say that I found something for miss Amy in Little Tokyo today.

Ta-ta for now, dear readers.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland