Kaiser and the Buddhist Temple
2002-02-17, 10:56 p.m.



Right. Before I get to the day's events (or non-events), I must briefly tell you why I hate Kaiser. Yesterday I went for an ultrasound appointment, to scan my kidneys and bladder. The thing about this is that in order for them to do this (or so they say), you are supposed to drink 32 oz. of liquid prior to your appointment. Having gone through this once before years ago I decided to drink my liquid on the way (last time I drank it before I even got in the car and by the time I got to Fontana I was ready to pee my pants, in my car). I checked in at 2:20 for a 2:30pm appointment, and didn't yet feel like I had to pee at all. I put my forms in the slot and settled down in the waiting area. There were other people waiting, including a woman whose machinery on her wheelchair kept beeping some alarm. There weren't any Kaiser folks around to help her out so we all sat there with this incessant beeping while she apologized. The thing about Kaiser is they love to hide away behind closed doors, because they don't want anyone reminding them that they are running an hour behind. So, long story short (or long already) is that somehow they "forgot" I was there. Finally in desperation I confronted a guy who was wheeling in yet another patient ahead of me. I was visibly upset. I really really had to pee. He let me go to the bathroom, and then ushered me in, apologizing and saying that somehow the folks in the back neglected to tell the ultrasound person I was there. At 3:30 I finally got my ultrasound -- but my brilliant plan to avoid the pain of an overfull bladder was thwarted yet again by the fiendish buffoons of Kaiser. I won't know the results until the end of this week. Having spent the past two Saturdays at the Kaiser ER with less than satisfactory experiences, I have had my fill. I have more Kaiser stories in my arsenal, but they will wait for another day.

So, as for today, we went to Hsi Lai Temple in Hacienda Heights. I am not Buddhist, but it was nice to see the temple, the shrines and the blissed out faces of the actual Buddhists. We gave offerings of incense, and meandered through the courtyards and gardens. Unfortunately, by the end of our visit and trek back to the car my side was hurting again. So we came home and watched Nurse Betty, Blow and the Simpsons. My plans for a productive Sunday were squashed. I hope they figure out what the hell is wrong with me soon, and that it's not something requiring surgery.

Lastly, if anyone has read this far, I just wanted to say that there is no need to worry about me reading other folks' diaries. If you ask me not to, I won't (and thus far I've only read the most recent entry since you've left me notes). The last thing I want is for you to feel like my presence in Diaryland necessitates that you approach your diaries any differently.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland