A month of Sundays, anyone?
2002-02-24, 2:25 p.m.



Hello! Thanks for tuning in again. Somehow I keep wondering who I'm going to offend with these diary entries. Believe you me, if I do it's purely unintentional. Feel free to leave me a note if I do. I am sometimes like the bull in a china shop we've heard about so often.

Yesterday I spent some time taking care of my poor battered car. I've only driven the damn thing 2600 miles (from its brannie-new state) and already its got a ding on one fender (my fault) and the driver's side door somewhat bashed in (some anonymous bastard's fault). Soon I will take it in and find out how much the anonymous bashing is going to set me back. In the meantime, I spent two hours Sat. morning washing and vacumming and checking fluids and tires.

Next I called A. about going out to her parent's house to hang out. We weren't able to get together until 5pm, and I had already planned to meet D. for dinner in Santa Monica at 7. So, I hung out with A. and her roommate and her roommate's boyfriend for a bit, watching a wonderful movie starring the Doogie Howser guy where he kills his parents. Then we watched some truly "Amazing Animal Videos" -- with two legged dogs and cats, two headed pigs, five legged lambs, toads that spawn toadlets out of their backs, and so on. I didn't want to leave so soon, but D. was anxious for dinner-eating. We went to this sushi place we always go to (I know, sushi bars are evil) and had our typical vegetarian fare, then on to Midnight Special bookstore. Between last night and my repeat appearance in Santa Monica this morning (after spending the night in D.'s hotel room near LAX), my wallet is much much lighter -- yet another Iyengar book, "Understanding Power" (Chomsky) and a couple of radio books. The trick now is making time to read them.

As I drove home this afternoon I started thinking about Sunday. How do you like to spend your Sunday? I remember this one song that was popular at the station many years ago called "A Month of Sundays", by Couch Flambeau (I think). "I'd like to see a month of Sundays, with crowds of people passing by..."

There is always the anticipation of the upcoming week for me -- a chance to relax before the week hits but an urge to be domestically or personally productive. I guess that's what happens when you insist on thinking that your life during the week is somehow different than it is during the weekend.

The other day one of the staffers and I had a conversation about how we couldn't believe that his residence hall neighbors party every night of the week. How do they do that? we wondered. We mused at the stamina necessary for such regularity -- and I silently hoped that for their sake it is but a passing phase.

So, one of the fluffmonsters is attempting to seduce a heavy petting session out of me, the birds are busy outside at their respective feeders (sunflower eaters and sugar water drinkers), the weather is just super nice, and I need to tear myself away from Dland and embrace the Sunday-ness of today. Perhaps later I will break tradition and return with more thrills, chills and profundity, we'll see. Happy Sunday, everyone!



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland