Room for one more
2002-04-12, 6:14 p.m.



It's been a bad week for updating (obviously).

Here's the rundown of the week's events:

Monday night - fly to Vegas. Stay in way way nice room for price paid. (Do I really need a shower with two shower heads? A bubble jet bathtub? *Three* televisions?)

Tuesday - wandering around radio exhibits and poking buttons. Watch amazing demo of the new CEP upgrade, complete with salesguy singing song about how great the program is. Pick up lots of goodies and flyers and on my way out I get to watch a live broadcast of Sam Donaldson's radio show. I am mostly impressed by how his combover stays in place.

Wednesday - tired for work. Go to yoga and Steve (the instructor) gets a wild hair and kicks our butts hard. We are balancing, twisting, sweating, posing our brains out. I leave even more exhausted but amazingly not sore. I am invigorated.

Thursday - Mira Calix, Nobukazu Takemura and Plaid at the El Rey. I am most impressed by NT (live video mixing and excellent tunes) but am happy to see a female DJ (Mira Calix). I run into other DJs from the station, hang out. I am enjoying getting my innards vibrated all over again until I start getting a stomachache. I think it was some kind of food poisoning from the birthday lunch J. treated me to earlier in the day. I know that it must be pretty hard for vegetarians to get food poisoning, but still I suffer abdominal pains, nausea, the clutching of my lower abdomen.

Friday morning - drag myself into work to open up and get budget files. Cancel meeting. Come home and go back to bed for a few hours. Manage to get into work in the afternoon and am now feeling much better. I get the budget proposal in. In about an hour we'll be going to the student video screening/awards.

At the moment I'm munching on some pretzels I picked up in Vegas -- probably a bad idea considering how f**cked up my stomach is/has been. Despite my recent purchases of pants that are supposed to fit, they keep getting bigger on me. Nothing tastes good or is appetizing. I need to go out and have some amazing gourmet meal, to try to regain the bliss of taste perception. Does anyone have any suggestions for yummy food? Recipes? Rice-ipies?



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland