Mmmmm....hertz donut....
2002-06-05, 10:27p.m.



I am determined to get horizontal at a "reasonable" hour. Why? Good question. I guess that the past two nights of short sleepness are taking their toll. I am somewhat irritable.

I banged away at the guitar again (yes, for an hour as recommended, oh am I so disciplined?), felt like the bull in a china shop must feel. Perhaps I should stop trying to make pretty sounds with the strings. I was reading somewheres an interview with Genesis P-Orridge and he was bemoaning the "narrow minded sods" (not his words, but I imagine that's what he'd say) that decide to learn three chords and start a band. I am beginning to question my own motives for persisting with this particular musical pursuit. I'd certainly love to start up another musical ensemblah, but do not fancy myself a guitarist in that situation. I've recently heard various folks complaining about the lack of females in the experimental music arena -- but I'm pretty sure I'm not up to the challenge of dealing with the snobbity B.S. that seems to go along with the territory. I just wanna have fun, dammit.

Anyone up for a hoe-down? When I was just a wee lass we used to go to a family friend's house, bring sumpin' sumpin' for the potluck and some instruments and folks would just hang out and play music all evening. As I got a bit older I became more interested in wandering off with the teens of the other families, drinking and smoking cigarettes and trying to act cool. Ah, youth. Yes, I still drink occasionally, and probably try to act cool on occasion as well -- but I've given up the smoking at least. I have to say that it took a while to learn all the smoker's etiquette -- the cool brands to smoke, the proper way to tap a fresh pack (ok, that's probably just a backwoods redneck thing, but I was in a small redneck town at the time), all the lighting and the holding and the stubbing it out in just the right way. I had to quit several times before it stuck -- I knew it was over when I could drink and not smoke (a winning combination!).

Did my radio show today, still haven't got a name for it -- but had fun, lots of requests and oh gee do I like the new Sutekh. Mmmmmmmm, Sutekh...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland