Musings of the Stupid-Tired
2002-06-18, 7:45 a.m.



Observation:I wear a lot of black clothing and have pale skin and have Cure, Bauhaus and Morrisey albums in my collection.

Question:Does that make me goth?

Response:I wear black clothing because I am lazy and don't feel like matching colors. I have pale skin because I work in a basement *and* fear skin cancer. The Cure et. al are just good music.

Observation:I am vegetarian, practice yoga, and occasionally eat granola.

Question:Does that make me a hippie?

Response:I like animals better when they are alive, the yoga makes me feel physically and mentally better, and the granola is just good eatin'.

Observation:I enjoy anime, have collected SD Gundam models, and enjoy quoting movies/cartoons.

Question:Does that make me a geek/dork/nerd?

Response:There's some really great animation and storylines to behold in Japanese anime, SD Gundam models are just funny as hell squished Gundam robots, and who doesn't like to quote movies/cartoons?

Observation: I like muscle cars, a cold beer on a hot day, and demolition derbies.

Question: Does that make me a slack-jawed yokel?

Response: There's some fine car designs in the Mopar genre, just about anything cold on a hot day is good, and doesn't everyone some degree of morbid fascination with destruction and car crashes?

Observation: I've had a mohawk before, own Germs, Crass, and DK albums, and think that Iggy's stage antics are hilarious.

Question: Does that make me a punk?

Response: Shaving your head is addictive, the Germs et. al. have music and a message, and what is not funny about smearing peanut butter all over your body, waggling your penis and flipping off and insulting your audience?

Observation: I can cook/bake, do laundry and clean the toilet.

Question: Does that make me a potential housewife?

Response: No.

Or is it like the Breakfast Club, where we realize that we cannot be pigeonholed as the goth, hippie, geek/dork/nerd, slack-jawed yokel, punk, potential housewife you think we are, Vern?

I really need to work on getting more sleep.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland