Hazy Cosmic Jive
2002-06-30, 1:12 p.m.



Yesterday's jaunt out west included a visit to MTR for a gander at the Bowie exhibit (music videos, documentary clips, interviews, 1964-73). I'd seen some of it before, like the Ziggy Stardust clips and some of the early music videos from the "Love You 'til Tuesday" era, but it was nice to see a concentrated bit of the Bowie history put together. The next installment (1974 - 76) starts July 10. I realized that the Bowie stuff I like is pretty much from 1963 - 1982, beyond that I stopped paying much attention. I had a little time to kill before the screening started, so I went upstairs and looked for something to watch from the museum archives -- and damned if the only thing I could think of to watch (I only had about a half hour) was the Bugaloos. Despite his bowtie I think that IQ is my favorite. I used to watch the show all the time (all 17 episodes of it anyway), but remembered the theme song better than I remembered anything else about it. Perhaps I should've named my show Kook Radio in loving memory.

I unloaded another pile of cash at Amoeba yesterday too, and am so far somewhat happy with my purchases -- thus far most satisfied by Apparat.

Spent some time with A. this weekend: went to see Amelie (again) on Friday, and last night we watched "Bring It On" for inspiration for the upcoming D. B.'s appearances. We've got some straight cheers, some call and response, some snappy outfits -- I think all that's missing is a brief ego-cheer -- I decided on Fontana as my cheer name, so I just need a way to introduce myself (you know, like they do in the beginning of Bring It On).

OK, I'm going to stop now and enjoy the incredibly nice weather outside.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland