What year is this, again?
2002-11-19, 12:05 a.m.



I am exhausted. I know that I should away to bed, but felt like I needed to update.

Last week I went to the two L.A. Savage Republic shows, and to a goth club in Pasadena with A. on Friday night. So much nostalgia for one week -- I saw so many folks I haven't seen in a long long time at the SR shows. Mike Watt opened up for SR and played a Daniel Johnston cover ("Walking the Cow"), which made me happy and feel old at the same time. The last time I saw Mike Watt (with Firehose at the Anticlub) was about the same time as I heard Daniel Johnston for the first time (in college). Then again, getting all gothed out a couple of nights later made me feel like I was 15 again. The goth club was absolutely terrible, but I had fun singing along to the classics with A. and getting dressed up.

The weekend was fairly mellow, lots o' hanging out, watching movies and the like. A friend of mine wants me to drum at this live performance in February -- I haven't drummed in years so I'm not exactly sure that that will pan out. I picked up some sticks and a practice pad and well, I am definitely out of practice. I am also not sure that I will have time to practice, between working and class and cheerleading and attending to the increasingly neurotic, vocal and dependent fuzzball with whom I share the apartment. Oh, and trying to have some sort of social life. And reading. And writing.

I've also been trying to get the apartment in order, spreading the stuff out a bit and wondering what to do with all the bare walls. I currently can't afford to get my posters framed up, so if you feel like drawing me a picture to put on my wall, email me and I'll tell you where to send it.

I'm not sure that I should spend much time or money decorating, tho -- I've been spending most of my time *away* from home lately, probably to avoid the quietness of it all.

OK, it's time to crash.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland