Joga, and stuff
2002-02-27, 9:16 p.m.



Jebus, am I whupped! I didn't get enough sleep last night, and I got a badass workout in yoga tonight. My arms just eventually gave out, said "Enough!" and so I rested. It felt sooooo good to go fetal at the end of the class. At the same time, there is a depth that is achieved when you are tired and doing something physical -- your body relaxes and you are more flexible. I remember a similar thing happening once in my dance class in college; I was absolutely exhausted from sleepless nights working on my thesis, and then when I went to dance class I was pleasantly surprised to find that some movements were easier when tired, relaxed.

At the end of class our teacher talked about how with regular practice you not only open up the body but are more open spiritually and emotionally. I know that this is true for me, yet ironically I am not open enough to feel comfortable sharing much about that here.

I had lunch with E. today -- we briefly discussed yoga (and briefly cursed its trendiness, but yet I think we both agreed that there is good reason for it) on the way. I really think it would be a great thing for her, as therapeutic as it has been for me. At the beginning of Yoga Zone Alan Finger says "Get ready for the workout that will change your life!", which is easy to laugh off, but dammit, he's right.

But I will got off my yoga soap box now and talk about something else.

I did a radio show today for the first time in a long time, and really enjoyed hearing some new music. I've had the freakin' Vespertine CD practically glued to my car stereo for so long now that I have listened to little else. Okay, that's not entirely true: I've acquiesced on the whole downloading music thing and snagged several very nice things recently, from early Adam and the Ants to Pierre Schaeffer. I played some of the new Ikue Mori on th show and felt the impulse to purchase it for my own. It's nice to feel a little excitement about music again.

There are several shows going on between this week and next that a lot of the staff are going to, but aside from a desire to see Erase Errata I'm not convinced I will go to any of the shows. We'll see.

But now I am off to rest my weary, useless arms and heavy eyelids. Let me know when you want to come over and try out the Hello Kitty glitter body art pens I picked up the other day.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland