Chan Marshall, the sweetest cat
2002-03-14, 8:19 a.m.



I didn't get home 'til about 12:30 and barely slept due to a sudden and sleep-denying bout of allergies and some sort of cold. So I'm going to go to work a little bit late today.

I'm so so glad that things went well with the Cat Power show last night. Everyone showed up, including approximately 450+ audience members. My bro came out for the show and seemed to have a good time too -- he is not an overly emotionally demonstrative person in general, but he had on that little "I really enjoyed that" smirky smile he gets. After the show I kicked myself a little for not bringing him backstage to meet her. I just didn't know how she was going to be -- there are so many stories about her and her emotional fragility, I didn't want to upset her. As it turns out, she is one of the nicest sweetest people I have ever met -- she greeted some of the fans who snuck backstage with big smiles, photo ops and hugs. We hung out and talked about all sorts of random stuff -- I made the mistake of asking her about her trip to Mexico, to which she responded that she had spent the past two days in Mexico fighting with her boyfriend (and she got a little visibly upset at sharing this). I quickly changed subjects and by the end of the night had had some laughs, hugs, photos and a goodbye kiss on the cheek. Chan Marshall and Jad Fair win the Nicest Music People I've Ever Met Award, hands down.

So now I'm going to go take a shower and find some drugs to help me not get more sicky-poo.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland