50% Off All Red, White and Blue Items
2002-09-28, 12:50 p.m.



I dangled on top of a sagging high wire.

I exposed my flesh to strangers.

I gazed upon the beautiful and the ugly, avoiding one another and holding hands.

I ate pink clouds of sugar.

I heard hundreds of teenage girl voices scream in unison for Mark McGrath's buns.

I bought 2 skirts for $15.

I went to the LA County Fair.

It's been years since I've been to the fair -- for various reasons. But it was just mumsie's birthday and she wanted to go. So we went. And as much as I wanted to throw darts at balloons to win a framed picture of Vin Diesel, a Harley, kittens frolicking together with a clever Hallmark-gift shop-Big Lots-style message, or some hottie holding her tits in her hands, I did not. But I did get to see some fabulous orchids, amazing quilts, and a super sexy tapdance number by 10 of the IE's finest teen dancers (their interpretation of the Beastie Boys' "Intergalactic" on tap shoes would blow any other Star Search hopeful out of the water). And had I but known that Sugar Ray was playing live and in person and that I could've screamed along with or at least been in the immediate eardrum-shattering presence of hundreds of teen girls all wanting Mark McGrath to love them, boy I woulda thought about buying a ticket.

It's red, white and blue, it's "Kinder. Simpler. Funner.", it's strollers rolling through unidentified puddles of sticky-ick, and it's leavin' town after tomorrow. GBA!



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland