rockers and cowboys and hummingbirds, oh my
2002-12-04, 5:41 p.m.



I had the greatest dream this morning. A hummingbird flew by me, hovering low. I followed it, trying to get close -- and it let me. It actually flew closer to me and eventually snuggled into my palm. It was like, the most beautiful cozy thing-feeling. I just love waking from dreams, smiling.

How I miss thee, Diaryland! I have been a bizzy bee, buzzing all around. I am having a nice time visiting friends and being a bit social, but I am also wanting to snuggle my books and feed my head. Last night I went to see the introduction of the new president of the Recording Academy and all I could hear (besides the horribly buzzy monitor to my right) in my head was Homer moaning "BOR-ING!". I didn't get to see Steve Vai (he's on the board but was apparently not there), but I met not one but TWO members of the new incarnation of Great White. I know, I know, you are soooooooo jealous. In an attempt to salvage the evening we stopped off at what looked to be an old-timey divey dance joint, only to find it was in fact a gay cowboy bar. Yee haw! My favorite was the collage of photos at the front entrance with lots of shirtless cowboys, right next to possibly the worst holiday/snow display I've yet seen. Yeah.

Oh, and here's a cure for getting those annoying holiday songs stuck in your head: just start singing "I Love Rock 'n Roll" as much and as loudly as possible. You will totally forget the insidious holiday madness, win friends and influence people.

OK, off to scary drum lesson #1...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland