Ich (wanna) bin eine flaneuse
2002-12-16, 7:32 a.m.



Hugk...kakk..pluhhgm...hmmmm..ahem! Just clearing the pesky phlegm out of my throat, sorry 'bout that.

Lessee...Saturday I had the pleasure of the best tofu/avocado/tomato sandwich ever at the activist vegetarian cafe downtown, contrasted by the gritty unpleasantness of seeing some poor woman (from a distance) giving a guy a BJ not-so-hidden behind a trashcan. Conversation in the cafe mostly consisted of muddy, helpless, frustrated yet inspired exploration of the current state of world affairs. Recently I had commented to someone that I couldn't imagine our political state of affairs getting worse than they are -- although I'm sure it's possible I just don't want to imagine it.

Saturday evening was spent at Mr. T's, waiting and waiting and feeling like I was at the Smell with all the waiting. There were many folks to chat with there, however, so it wasn't too bad -- certainly not as bad as the Cosmopolitan I was charged $6.50 for that mostly consisted of cranberry mix and lime juice. FB was there, covering the show for next week's LAWeekly. He told me about getting a free trip to Amsterdam to play a show there with JD, and about some show he saw where a mime troupe acted out the parts of musicians playing the work of Misha Mengleberg. The bill at Mr. T's consisted of Upsilon Acrux, The Curtains, Open City and Saccharine Trust. I saw UA and the Curtains, but didn't want to stay thru ST to see OC -- it was already after midnight by that time. UA rocked, and I just love those Curtains -- music that surprises and amuses is usually a sure bet.

In the midst of holiday madness I am thinking about summer. I am contemplating an overseas adventure, but I'm not exactly sure where to go -- I know folks in Japan and Turkey. I'd like to return to Nepal some day but considering the current uh, political situation and that summer is the middle of monsoon season that won't be a consideration. Any suggestions for favorite adventure destinations are appreciated...



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland