today you're gonna be sick so sick...
2003-02-19, 12:46 p.m.



I feel like poo. I've been staving off the sick for the past two weeks with my friend zinc, dragging my butt to work and ultimately needing to just rest my weary head. I wasn't going to go in today, but various things forced me to and now I'm just exhausted and planning to jet immediately after my conference call this afternoon.

Friday night I saw X at the Knitting Factory. Holy frijole, they were sooo frickin' good. Original lineup (oh Billy Zoom!) and so tight -- and they played two songs I especially wanted to hear ("Nausea" and "Blue Spark"). Actually, I think they played just about all of the "Los Angeles" album, which just made me so dang happy and satisfied. There is something so sweet about hearing the combo of Exene and John's voices...and on Valentine's Day of all days...awwwwwwwwwwww. On the way out to the show I had one of those moments of worry, wondering if they were going to be old and tired -- and au contraire, it was like going back in a time machine. OK, so they are all older, a little heavier and wrinkly around the edges but they will rock your ass so hard you'll need an ass crutch (I confess that I stole this expression).

Lessee...what else? I went to the anti-war demonstration on Saturday in Hollywood -- a much larger, denser crowd than the last demo. Unfortunately, I had to leave before I got to the rally at the end of the march -- had to drive JC over the hill to an afternoon sound check. Later that night was the gig, a fun time and lots of glow bracelets were had by all.

Sunday was the Simpsons 300th episode and Snacktacular with A. and J. -- A. made veggie pigs in blankets and we had lots of other fancy Trader Joe's snacks. I've lately been out of the Simpsons mode, but it was nice to see Homer and the gang once again -- even if the new episodes are less than side-splitting.

The good news for today is that we finally got the new Lightning Bolt album in at work, and I get to review it, heheheheheh! I also got my grubby mitts on the promo poster, now proudly displayed above my desk. Such a lovely shade of purple. A. and I are planning on following them around on tour...so I guess you'd call us Boltheads. Yeah.



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland