slowly, but more gently, please
2003-07-12, 9:43 a.m.



July already! I'm hoping that it moves by as slow as molasses, for a few reasons:

-my new bandmates will both be out of town for most of August, and we have much practicing to do before then. Thursday's practice was quite fun, even tho EA's guitar mysteriously crapped out.

-the cheer squad has a great show coming up on the 26th, but we need time to get our poo grouped.

-the arrival of August is the death knell of summer, and much more aligning of ducks in rows needs to happen before the kids come back in September.

-Stephen Lassovsky, Mr. July for the SRL calendar, has a nice tushy (if a bit fuzzy).

Took half day yesterday, saw the new pirate movie -- and although I am definitely definitely definitely not a Bruckheimer fan, it was ok. Johnny's portrayal of the somewhat goofy and crazy Captain Jack Sparrow was not without traces of the mannerisms and tics of Hunter S. Thompson. Afterwards I had a minor mall spree, where I picked up three new drum books, the new Chococat cereal bowl and a Deery-Lou glass (which I am happy to report is made of quite thick and heavy glass).

I awoke this morning to the sound of a very loud emergency page from work. I recently had to replace the pager (it died in a terrible skateboarding accident) and the new one as Mr. Tufnel would say, "goes to 11". I managed to sort things out but must remember to change the alert to something a bit less jarring.

I am hoping that whatever planetary alignment or supernatural force or string of just plain bad coincidence that was in full force this week has passed. This past week brought lots of bad news, from relationships breaking up to friends/loved ones sick from cancer to several deaths. Yeesh. Be careful out there, folks!



last - next



old | profile | notes | rings | diaryland